Skip to main content

Browse Conspiracy Theories

450 theories (page 8 of 19)

Government & PoliticsConfirmed
Operation Mockingbird: CIA media-asset network (1948-1970s)
Operation Mockingbird was a large-scale CIA programme begun in the late 1940s that recruited journalists, editors, and news executives to plant stories, shape narratives, and advance US foreign-policy objectives through ostensibly independent media outlets. The programme was exposed by the Church Committee investigations of 1975-76 and confirmed in detail by Carl Bernstein's October 1977 Rolling Stone exposé, which named over 400 US journalists and media organisations as having worked with the CIA. The programme is confirmed by declassified documents and congressional testimony.
14 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Health & MedicineConfirmed
GSK Avandia CV risk concealment (1999–2010)
GlaxoSmithKline's diabetes drug Avandia (rosiglitazone) was approved by the FDA in 1999. A 2007 meta-analysis by cardiologist Steven Nissen, published in the New England Journal of Medicine, found that Avandia was associated with a 43% increased risk of myocardial infarction. Senate Finance Committee investigations in 2010 found that GSK had internal evidence of cardiovascular risk years before the Nissen publication and had not disclosed it to regulators. GSK settled with the US Department of Justice for $3 billion in 2012 — at the time the largest healthcare fraud settlement in US history — covering Avandia and other products. The FDA restricted Avandia to patients with no other options in 2010 and lifted the restrictions only in 2013 after further review.
14 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Health & MedicineConfirmed
JUUL marketing nicotine vapes to minors (2015–2019)
JUUL Labs launched its e-cigarette in 2015 with marketing that regulators and litigants found deliberately targeted underage users: bright colours, social media influencers, flavoured pods, and campaigns that mirrored cigarette advertising strategies proven to recruit teen smokers. Between 2017 and 2019, teen e-cigarette use surged to epidemic levels — the FDA called it a "youth vaping epidemic." In June 2022, the FDA denied JUUL's marketing authorisation, citing inadequate safety data. In December 2022, JUUL settled a 33-state attorney general investigation for $462 million. Separate settlements with school districts and individual states totalled additional hundreds of millions. The targeting of minors is confirmed by internal documents, regulatory findings, and legal settlements.
13 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Health & MedicineConfirmed
Vioxx cardiovascular concealment (Merck, 1999-2004)
Merck launched the painkiller Vioxx (rofecoxib) in 1999 despite internal data suggesting elevated cardiovascular risk. The VIGOR trial (2000) showed a five-fold increase in heart attacks versus naproxen; Merck downplayed the finding for four years. APPROVe (2004) confirmed the risk and Merck withdrew Vioxx globally. The FDA estimated 27,000 to 55,000 excess cardiovascular deaths during the drug's five years on the market. Merck settled MDL 1657 for $4.85 billion in 2007. Internal emails show executives debating how to "handle" the cardiovascular signal. This is a confirmed corporate concealment, not a disputed claim.
12 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Health & MedicineConfirmed
J&J baby-powder asbestos cover-up (1970s–2020s)
A Reuters investigation published in December 2018 found that Johnson & Johnson knew for decades that its baby powder talc sometimes tested positive for asbestos, a known carcinogen, and did not disclose this to regulators or the public. Internal J&J documents dated from the 1970s through the early 2000s showed awareness of asbestos contamination in talc sourced from mines in Vermont and elsewhere. In 2018, a Missouri jury awarded $4.69 billion to 22 women who alleged asbestos-contaminated talc caused their ovarian cancer (Ingham v. Johnson & Johnson). J&J discontinued US and Canadian baby powder sales in 2020 and global sales in 2023. Two attempts to resolve talc liability through bankruptcy of a subsidiary (LTL Management) were rejected by federal courts in 2023.
22 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Health & MedicineConfirmed
Theranos sham blood-testing fraud (2003–2022)
Theranos, founded by Elizabeth Holmes in 2003, claimed its proprietary Edison device could run hundreds of diagnostic tests from a single finger-prick of blood. The technology never worked as claimed. A 2015 Wall Street Journal investigation by John Carreyrou exposed the fraud. The company voided two years of Edison-based test results, affecting approximately 176,000 patients. Holmes was convicted of four counts of wire fraud (January 2022, sentenced to 11 years). President Balwani was convicted of 12 counts (July 2022, sentenced to nearly 13 years). Patients received false medical results; some made clinical decisions based on inaccurate data.
22 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsConfirmed
FTX customer-fund commingling and Alameda backdoor (2019-22)
FTX, the cryptocurrency exchange founded by Sam Bankman-Fried (SBF), secretly transferred billions in customer deposits to its affiliated trading firm Alameda Research, which used the funds for investments, loans to executives, and political donations. When Alameda's balance sheet leaked in November 2022, a bank run ensued and FTX collapsed. SBF was convicted on seven counts of fraud and conspiracy in November 2023 and sentenced to 25 years. Testimony from co-conspirators Caroline Ellison and Gary Wang confirmed the Alameda auto-liquidation exemption and the deliberate nature of the commingling.
21 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsPartially True
Tether (USDT) reserve-composition concealment (2017-present)
Tether Limited, issuer of the USDT stablecoin, claimed for years that each USDT was backed 1:1 by US dollars held in reserve. Investigations by the New York Attorney General (settled February 2021, $18.5M) and the CFTC (settled October 2021, $41M) confirmed that Tether had misrepresented its reserves — backing was at times composed of commercial paper, loans to Bitfinex, and other non-cash assets rather than pure dollar reserves. Tether produces periodic attestations but has never undergone a full independent audit. The stablecoin continues to operate and is the largest by market cap.
15 sources4% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsPartially True
Mt. Gox 850k BTC loss: insider theft vs malleability hack (2014)
Mt. Gox, once the world's largest Bitcoin exchange, collapsed in February 2014 after announcing the loss of approximately 850,000 BTC (then ~$450M; worth billions at later prices). CEO Mark Karpelès initially claimed transaction malleability attacks were responsible. Independent blockchain forensics firm WizSec attributed the losses to systematic key theft beginning in 2011. Karpelès was convicted in March 2019 for data falsification — not theft. Alexander Vinnik, operator of BTC-e (a money laundering exchange), was indicted in 2017 for receiving proceeds of the Mt. Gox theft. The true mechanism remains partially contested.
15 sources3% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsConfirmed
Terra/Luna algorithmic stablecoin collapse (Do Kwon, 2022)
TerraUSD (UST) was an algorithmic stablecoin designed by Terraform Labs and its CEO Do Kwon. In May 2022, the UST peg collapsed, triggering a "death spiral" that wiped approximately $40 billion in market value within days. The SEC filed fraud charges in February 2023. Do Kwon was arrested in Montenegro in March 2023 and extradited to the United States in 2025. Evidence at trial showed Kwon and colleagues had privately known the stablecoin mechanism was fragile and had concealed its prior near-collapse in May 2021.
15 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsDebunked
SVB collapse: short-seller conspiracy vs duration mismatch (2023)
Silicon Valley Bank (SVB) collapsed on 10 March 2023 in the second-largest US bank failure in history. Conspiracy claims attributed the failure to coordinated short-selling campaigns or deliberate destabilisation by financial actors. Federal Reserve, FDIC, and congressional investigations attributed the collapse to SVB's concentration of approximately $91 billion in long-duration mortgage-backed securities purchased at near-zero interest rates, which lost market value as rates rose. When SVB announced a $1.8 billion realised loss from selling securities on 9 March, a Twitter-accelerated bank run ensued. Short-seller conspiracy claims are unsupported.
12 sources5% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Aaliyah 2001 plane-crash cover-up claims
R&B singer Aaliyah Dana Haughton and eight others died when a Cessna 402B crashed shortly after takeoff from Marsh Harbour Airport in the Bahamas on 25 August 2001. The National Transportation Safety Board investigation determined the probable cause was weight overload and the aircraft being piloted by Luis Morales III, who was not rated for the aircraft type and whose toxicology showed cocaine and alcohol. The claim that the crash was a cover-up or an orchestrated killing has no evidentiary basis and directly contradicts the NTSB findings.
20 sources5% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsPartially True
Mac Miller 2018: industry sacrifice vs counterfeit-pill homicide
Malcolm McCormick (Mac Miller) died on 7 September 2018 at his Studio City, California home from acute mixed drug toxicity — fentanyl, cocaine, and alcohol. The Los Angeles County coroner ruled the manner of death accidental. Three individuals were subsequently prosecuted for their roles in the fentanyl supply chain: Cameron Pettit (pleaded guilty 2021), Ryan Reavis (pleaded guilty 2022), and Stephen Walter (convicted 2023). The 'industry sacrifice' claim has no basis; the counterfeit-pill-supply-chain prosecution is real.
22 sources3% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
XXXTentacion 2018: rival-label hit vs street robbery
Jahseh Dwayne Ricardo Onfroy (XXXTentacion) was shot and killed during a robbery outside a motorsports dealership in Deerfield Beach, Florida, on 18 June 2018. Four men were convicted of first-degree murder and armed robbery in October 2023: Dedrick Williams, Michael Boatwright, Trayvon Newsome, and Robert Allen. The prosecution established a robbery motive — the perpetrators targeted XXXTentacion for cash he was known to be carrying. The claim that a rival record label orchestrated the killing has no evidentiary basis and contradicts the conviction record.
19 sources5% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Whitney Houston Illuminati 'sacrifice' claim (2012)
Whitney Houston was found unresponsive in a bathtub at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on 11 February 2012 and pronounced dead at age 48. The Los Angeles County coroner ruled the cause of death accidental drowning with cocaine use and atherosclerotic heart disease as significant contributing conditions. Within hours of the announcement, online conspiracy communities advanced the claim that Houston had been an Illuminati 'sacrifice' — killed by the music industry or a shadowy elite cabal. The claim has no forensic, documentary, or testimonial basis.
21 sources4% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsPartially True
Prince's 2016 death: counterfeit pill murder vs accidental overdose
Prince Rogers Nelson was found unresponsive in an elevator at Paisley Park on 21 April 2016. The Midwest Medical Examiner ruled the cause of death accidental fentanyl toxicity. The fentanyl was in counterfeit Vicodin pills. The FBI investigated whether any party could be held criminally responsible for supplying the pills; the investigation closed in 2018 without charges. The counterfeit-fentanyl supply chain was real and responsible for many deaths in 2016. The claim that Prince was specifically, deliberately targeted for murder via poisoned pills has no evidentiary support.
20 sources3% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Selena 1995: fan-club embezzlement cover-up theories
Tejano singer Selena Quintanilla-Pérez was shot and killed by Yolanda Saldívar on 31 March 1995 at a Corpus Christi motel. Saldívar had been the founder and president of Selena's fan club and the manager of her boutiques. Embezzlement of approximately $60,000 from the fan club and boutiques was the documented motive for the confrontation that preceded the shooting. Saldívar was convicted of first-degree murder in 1995 and sentenced to life in prison. The conspiracy framing — that the embezzlement was a cover story for a deeper institutional "cover-up" — has no evidentiary basis. Trial transcripts are public record; the conviction is solid.
18 sources5% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsPartially True
Juice WRLD's 2019 death: federal-agent pill-swallow vs. natural OD
Rapper Jarad Higgins (Juice WRLD) died at Chicago's Midway Airport on 8 December 2019 after swallowing multiple Percocet pills. The Cook County Medical Examiner ruled the cause of death oxycodone and codeine toxicity. Federal agents were present, boarding his private jet as part of a firearms and drug search. Conspiracy framings range from "the encounter caused panic that led to the fatal swallow" (partially supported, but contested) to "agents deliberately murdered him" (no evidentiary basis). The intermediate claim — that the enforcement encounter was a proximate contributor — is partially coherent; the murder claim is not.
13 sources3% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Pop Smoke 2020: industry-orchestrated burglary vs. opportunistic home invasion
Brooklyn drill rapper Bashar Barakah Jackson (Pop Smoke) was shot and killed during a home invasion at a rented Hollywood Hills mansion on 19 February 2020. Five individuals were charged — two adults and three juveniles. LA County DA prosecution documents describe a robbery-gone-wrong triggered after a 15-year-old saw Pop Smoke post his address on Instagram alongside a Rolex gifted to him. The claim that his label, management, or unnamed industry figures orchestrated the killing has no evidentiary basis and contradicts the prosecution record.
20 sources4% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Bob Marley CIA cancer-injection claim (1981)
A persistent conspiracy claim holds that a CIA operative engineered Bob Marley's death from acral lentiginous melanoma — either by gifting him contaminated boots containing a metal wire that caused the initial toe lesion, or by some form of injection. Marley died on 11 May 1981 at age 36. The melanoma was diagnosed in 1977 and its progression is consistent with documented refused-amputation decisions, not with assassination. The CIA-injection/boot claim has no evidentiary basis and contradicts the established medical record.
22 sources4% confidencefully sourced
History & Ancient CivilizationsDebunked
Marvin Gaye's father as CIA mind-control asset (1984)
Marvin Gay Sr. shot his son Marvin Gaye on 1 April 1984, the day before Marvin's 45th birthday. Gay Sr. was arrested, charged with first-degree murder, and subsequently diagnosed with a brain tumour that affected his behaviour; the charge was reduced to voluntary manslaughter and he received a suspended sentence. The conspiracy claim — that Gay Sr. was a CIA-programmed or mind-controlled asset directed to kill his son — has no evidentiary basis and contradicts decades of documented domestic violence, psychiatric findings, and medical records.
17 sources5% confidencefully sourced
Government & PoliticsConfirmed
Catholic Church Abuse: The Systemic Cover-Up
Grand jury investigations, royal commissions, and independent journalism across multiple countries have established that the Catholic Church institutionally concealed the sexual abuse of children by clergy over decades, routinely transferring offending priests between parishes rather than reporting them to civil authorities. The Boston Globe Spotlight team's 2002 investigation, the Pennsylvania Grand Jury Report (2018), the Australian Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse (2013–2017), and the John Jay Report (2004, commissioned by the US Conference of Catholic Bishops) collectively document the institutional pattern. This is a confirmed institutional cover-up backed by court records, government commission findings, and Pulitzer Prize-winning journalism.
17 sources97% confidencefully sourced
Government & PoliticsConfirmed
BBC Jimmy Savile: Institutional Cover-Up
Jimmy Savile, a BBC presenter and celebrity fundraiser who died in October 2011, was subsequently confirmed by Operation Yewtree (Metropolitan Police, 2012–2016) to have been one of the most prolific sexual offenders in British criminal history, with 450 formal complaints covering offences across BBC studios, NHS hospitals, Broadmoor psychiatric hospital, and Stoke Mandeville Hospital. The Dame Janet Smith Review (2016, commissioned by the BBC) found that senior BBC managers had received complaints about Savile over decades and had failed to act. The Kate Lampard NHS review (2015) documented similar failures across NHS trusts. The BBC's own Newsnight programme had prepared an investigation into Savile's offending in 2011 that was shelved by editors. This is a confirmed institutional cover-up across multiple British public institutions.
16 sources96% confidencefully sourced
Finance & EconomicsConfirmed
Vatican Bank, Banco Ambrosiano, and the Death of Roberto Calvi
Roberto Calvi, chairman of Banco Ambrosiano — Italy's largest private bank — was found hanging from Blackfriars Bridge in London on 18 June 1982. The initial ruling of suicide was overturned and the case reopened as murder in 2002. Banco Ambrosiano collapsed days after Calvi's death; $1.3 billion in unsecured loans had been made to shell companies controlled by or connected to the Istituto per le Opere di Religione (IOR — the Vatican Bank). Archbishop Paul Marcinkus, head of the IOR, was indicted by Italian prosecutors in 1987; the Vatican refused extradition citing sovereign immunity. The IOR settled with Ambrosiano creditors for $250 million in 1984 without admitting liability. The P2 Masonic Lodge (Licio Gelli) provided an additional layer of documented conspiracy. Multiple Italian parliamentary inquiries, international banking investigations, and journalist accounts — including Gerald Posner's *God's Bankers* — establish this as a confirmed financial and institutional conspiracy.
12 sources92% confidencefully sourced